UMLand Seri Austin Holds Groundbreaking Ceremony for Chinese School


The school will be developed on a 2.43ha site in Seri Austin and costs RM6mil to build

UMLand Seri Austin held the groundbreaking ceremony for SJK (C) Kuek Ho Yao at Seri Austin which was successfully officiated by Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, Minister of Transport and MCA President.

The ceremony was witnessed by Datuk Seri Ir. Dr. Wee Ka Siong (Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department), Datuk Chong Sin Woon (Deputy Minister of Education II and MCA Youth Chief), Senator Dato’Sri Hou Kok Chung (MCA Vice-President), Dato’ Teo Ah Khiang (School Board Chairman), Dato’ Ng Eng Tee (Executive Deputy Chairman of UMLand), Dennis Ng (Group Managing Director of UMLand), KK Wong (Group Director of UMLand Townships) and about 400 dignitaries, MCA leaders and guests.

SJK (C) Kuek Ho Yao is targeted to complete by 2020 costing RM6mil and will be developed on a 2.43ha site in Seri Austin. The first phase will involve 40 classrooms and a canteen. The school is expected to accommodate up to 2,000 students once it is completed in two years.

The school is named after late Tan Sri Kuek Ho Yao which serves as a tribute to the great philanthropist who played a vital role in the development of the Chinese community in Johor Bahru.

“As a property developer, UMLand has always emphasised education as an important part to build a world-class community with more local educational opportunities. We believe that these schools will be able to help the students flourish, and the completion of SJK (C) Kuek Ho Yao will provide great education for future generations” said Dato’ Ng Eng Tee in his speech.

Meanwhile, Datuk Kuok Siew Yin, who is the daughter of the late Tan Sri Kuek Ho Yao, commented it was an honour for the school to be named after her father.

SJK(C) Kuek Ho Yau board of governors chairman Datuk Teo Ah Khiang said the construction of the school was timely as it could cater to residents living in Taman Seri Austin, Taman Setia Indah, Taman Austin Duta, Taman Dato Onn, Eco Spring, Taman JP Perdana and Taman Daya.